• Governor’s Gala Awards

    CRA Chairman Micah Cheserem hands a trophy to Murang’a Governor
  • Access to Education in Counties

    Pupils at Mogadisho Pri School in Kakuma
  • Access to Water Resources

    Waighaidan borehole Banissa, Mandera County
  • Development of Health Facilities

    Delivery Ward in Kabartonjo Hospital, Baringo County
  • Energy

    Solar -powered Napuu Aquifer, Turkana County.
  • Road Construction

    Sigowo – Kapkelelwa road works, Baringo County.
  • Devolution Acheivements

    Mandera County Referral Hospital.

    Flamingos on Lake Bogoria National Reserve


The Senate standing committee on Finance is to work with CRA to re-look into various options, aimed at determining the second revenue generation sharing formula and present its report within the next three weeks. This follows a retreat organized by CRA and Senate from 16 – 17 October 2015 in Mombasa.

The chairman of CRA in his opening remarks noted that income disparity in East Africa is highest in Kenya. He also noted that 50 years after independence, counties such as Turkana were yet to benefit from the country’s vast resources. He highlighted Article 96 of the Kenyan Constitution which provides that Senate determines the allocation of national revenue among counties, to exercise oversight over national revenue allocated to the county governments. He urged Senate to carefully consider the determination of the second generation formula. “The formula which CRA is working on is to benefit the whole country, Senate will have the final say,” said the chairman.

The Speaker of Senate, Hon. Ekwee Ethuro expressed the Senate’s commitment to protecting devolution structures. He urged CRA to ensure that the formula to be determined would allocate adequate resources to counties to make them equitable. “The situation of maternal death and poverty in some counties is severe in some counties, Hon. Ekwee stated.” The new formula should be able to address this as well as deal with objectives of devolution and assist counties to attain Vision 2030, Hon. Ekwee stated.

Ms. Lineth Oyugi took members through a detailed presentation of the proposed criteria for revenue sharing recommended by CRA. She stated the methodologies applied in collecting information used in the process, as review of the first revenue sharing formula, review of international literature, submission of memoranda by various organizations, and focus group discussions with county governments and experts.

Read more…

Basis of Revenue Sharing among the Counties for FY 2012/13, 2013/14, 2014/15

By a resolution passed on 22nd November 2012, the National Assembly resolved in pursuant of Article 217 of the Constitution, the basis of revenue sharing shall be as follows:

Parameters Percentage Weights
1 Population 45%
2 Poverty Index 20%
3 Land Area 8%
4 Basic Equal Share 25%
5 Fiscal Responsibility 2%

Follow us on Twitter


Recent Posts