Micah Cheserem - Chairman

Mr Cheserem is an accountant by profession with decades of hands-on experience. He is a qualified Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants of London since 1974. He is a former Governor of Central bank of Kenya and the immediate former chairperson of the Capital Markets Authority. He has held a number of senior posts in various private sector and public companies including British American Tobacco, Lonrho and Unilever.

Fatuma Abdulkadir - Vice-chairperson

Fatuma Abdulkadir holds a Masters in Business Administration and a Bachelor of Education. She has been the National Project Coordinator in Arid Lands Resource Management Project. She has wide experience in development and implementation of government policies in Arid and Semi – Arid (ASAL) regions. She has also facilitated the implementation of programmes funded by development partners such as the EU, UNDP, WFP, FAO, UNICEF and OXFAM. She is the immediate former Chairperson of the Kenya Food Security Meeting which coordinates humanitarian interventions of all actors including government donors and NGOs in the food security sector.

Prof. Wafula Masai - Commissioner

Wafula Masai is a holder of a Doctorate in Economic Analysis and Planning, a Masters of Arts in Development Economics and Bachelor of Arts in Economics. For about thirty years he has served as a lecturer and Associate Professor of Economics, Chairman of Economics Department (University of Nairobi), and Programmes Director at the African Centre for Economic Growth. He has also been an economic policy consultant for many international agencies and Kenyan organizations.

Amina Ahmed - Commissioner

Amina Ahmed holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and French. She has been the chairperson of the Kenyatta International Conference Centre (2008-2011) and a member of the Executive Committee of the One Shilling Foundation. She previously held senior positions in Kenya Commercial Bank for 22 years having left as Regional Manager, Coast. She is a holder of International Bankers Certificate London. Amina has a World Bank Certificate in Economic Analysis of Projects.

Prof. Joseph Kimura - Commissioner

Joseph Kimura holds a PhD in Accounting, MBA in Accounting and Finance and Bachelor of Commerce in Accounting and is a Certified Public Accountant. He holds rank of Fellow of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya and is a founder member of the Association of Financial Analysts of East Africa. Prof Kimura has held a large number of positions both in the public and private sectors including the University of Nairobi, United States International University, KASNEB and Higher Education Loans Board among others.

Rose Osoro - Commissioner

Rose Bosibori Osoro holds a Masters in Business Administration from the University of Nairobi and a Bachelor of Arts from Kenyatta University. She is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) and Certified Public Secretary (CPS). She further holds certificates from Georgia State University, Andrew Young School of Policy Studies on Fiscal Decentralization and Local Governance and from Duke University, Stanford School of Policy on Budgeting and Financial Management in the Public Sector.

Ms Osoro has played a major role in designing of Kenyan devolution system particularly in fiscal decentralization. She was a key member in the formulation of various devolution related legislation. She currently serves as a member of Inter-governmental Budget and economic Forum- Budget Committee.

Ms Osoro has made extensive contribution to county capacity building in budgeting and public finance and was the champion on implementation of the County Budget and Economic Forums.

She has extensive work experience in public finance with emphasis on budgeting and financial allocation and chairs the Finance Committee of the Commission. She further serves as a member of the technical, human resource, procurement and ICT committees of the Commission.

Ms Osoro is a member of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK) and Kenya Institute of Management (KIM)

Prof. Raphael Munavu - Commissioner

Raphael Munavu holds a Ph.D. in Chemistry, a Master of Science degree in Chemistry and Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry. He has held senior academic and administrative positions in Moi University, University of Nairobi; Egerton University, the Kenya National Examinations Council and the South Eastern University College (SEUCO). He has wide research and teaching experience and is a Fellow of the Kenya National Academy of Sciences (KNAS).

Meshack Onyango - Commissioner

Meshack Onyango holds a Master of Science Degree in International Banking and Finance (1983) from Herriot – Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland and a Bachelor of Commerce degree; Accounting option (1975) from the University of Nairobi and a Certificate in Money and Capital Markets Development from the prestigious New York Institute of Finance. He is a financial sector payments system development expert with thirty years experience working with the Central Bank of Kenya. He has undertaken various consultancy assignments with varied donor agencies such as UNDP, USAID among others and has been a board member at the Capital Markets Authority. He is also a member of the Kenya Institute of Directors

Dr. Kamau Thuge - Commissioner / P.S The National Treasury

Dr. Kamau Thugge is a distinguished economist with a PhD in Economics from Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Thugge has worked for mainly two organizations. Before his appointment to The National Treasury as the Principal Secretary, Dr. Thugge started his employment in the International Monetary Fund (IMF); he came back to the Ministry of Finance and again went to IMF.