Functions of National Government

Kenya’s central government is structured through the constitution with administrative and policy making powers being distributed to its three arms namely Executive, Legislature and Judiciary. However, the current structuring is being replaced by a revamped new governance system following the recent adoption of the new constitution.

Here is a comprehensive covering of the Kenya government structure that comes into full operation by March 4th, 2013.

National Govt Image

Function of National Government Part 1 (Fourth Schedule, Article 185 (2), 186 (1) and 187 (2)

1. Foreign affairs, foreign policy and international trade.
2. The use of international water and water resources.
3. Immigration and citizenship
4. The relationship between religion and state.
5. Language policy and the promotion of official and local languages.
6. National defence and the use of national defence services.
7. Police services, including-

(a)  The setting of standards of recruitment, training of police and use of police services;

(b)  Criminal law; and

(c)   Correctional services.

8. Courts.
9. National economic policy and planning.
10. Monetary policy, currency, banking (including central banking), the incorporation and regulation of banking, insurance and           financial corporations.
11. National statistics and data on population, the economy and society generally.
12. Intellectual property rights
13. Labour standards.
14. Consumer protection, including standards for social security and professional pension plans.
15. Education policy, standards, curricula, examinations and the granting of university charters.
16. Universities, tertiary educational institutions and other institutions of research and higher learning and primary schools, special 17. education, secondary schools and special education institutions.
18. Promotion of sports and sports education.
19. Transport and communications, including, in particular-

(a)  Road traffic;

(b)  The construction and operation of national trunk roads;

(c)   Standard for the construction and maintenance of other roads by counties;

(d)  Railways;

(e)   Pipelines;

(f)    Marine navigations;

(g)  Civil aviation;

(h) Space travel;

(i)    Postal services;

(j)    Telecommunication; and

(k)  Radio television broadcasting.

  1. National public works.

20. Housing policy.

  1. General principles of land planning and the co-ordination of planning by the counties.

22. Protection of the environment and natural resources with a view to establishing a durable and sustainable system of development, including, in particular-

(a)  Fishing, hunting and gathering;

(b)  Protection of animal and wildlife;

(c)   Water protection, securing sufficient residual water, hydraulic engineering and the safety of dams; and

(d)  Energy policy.

23. National referral health facilities.

24. Disaster management.

  1. Ancient and historical monument of national importance.

26. National election.

  1. Health policy.

28. Agricultural policy.

29. Veterinary policy.

30. Energy policy including electricity and gas reticulation and energy regulation.

  1. Capacity building and technical assistance to the counties.

32. Public investment.

33. National betting, casinos and other forms of gambling.

34. Tourism policy and development.